Sub page banner image

The Young Ophthalmologists Programme (YOP)

The Young Ophthalmologists Programme (YOP)The Young Ophthalmologists Programme (YOP) was established in response to feedback from UKISCRS members.
YOP aims to target and represent the needs of ophthalmic specialty trainees and consultant ophthalmic surgeons in their
first three years of clinical practice.

YOP run their own programme/half-day masterclass the day prior to the UKISCRS annual congress.
Recent symposia has been: 'A Vitreous Loss Masterclass', '
Mastering Cataract Surgery in Glaucoma' and 'Managing Corneal Astigmatism in Cataract Surgery'.

The YOP sessions highlight topical scientific needs and provides a chance for you to listen to and interact with UK & Internationally renowed ophthalmologists.

Our YOP Events in 2019

The 2019 2nd YOP Anterior Victrectomy Course IS NOW FULL - Friday 12th April - Alcon Labs, Camberley £30 per delegate. Click to see the programme.

SAVE THE DATE - Weds 16th October to Friday 18th October 2019

The 2019 43rd UKISCRS Annual Meeting YOP Programme - £80 Registration fee provides 14 CPD points for full attendance and access all areas

YOP Membership Benefits

If you are not yet a YOP member and would like to find out the benefits of this FREE membership - then please read below.

FREE 3 Year ESCRS & UKISCRS Membership for Trainees

The YOP Committee 2018

YOP is run by a small committee of Young Ophthalmologists elected to the committee by the YOP membership and UKISCRS Council. 

The YOP Committee Members

Imran Yusuf - YOP Lead

Laura Maubon

Kavita Aggarwal

Andrew Swampillai

     Prof Charles Claoué                                       Gill Wood
     Consultant YOP Lead                         UKISCRS Society Mngr


The YOP committee have an active group of regional representatives. Please contact the rep for your region for more information:




Scotland (West)

Andrew Swampillai

Olayinka Williams ST3 olayinka.williams@nhs.net


Kavita Aggarwal

Darren Ting- ST7

Northern Ireland

Kavita Aggarwal

Stephen Stewart – ST3 <s.stewart697@gmail.com

East Midlands

Kavita Aggarwal

Lin Lu- ST1

West Midlands

Kavita Aggarwal

Aaron Ng- ST6aaron.ng@doctors.org.uk

North West

Kavita Aggarwal



Andrew Swampillai

Ivan Sychev

North Thames

Laura Maubon

Mishank Jain- ST2mishankjain@gmail.com


Andrew Swampillai

Jonathan Kirk - ST4


Andrew Swampillai

Andrew Swampillaiandrew.swampillai@doctors.org.uk


Laura Maubon

Derek Ho - ST2


Kavita Aggarwal

Kavita Aggarwal


Andrew Swampillai


East of England

Laura Maubon

Harry Roberts- ST4


Andrew Swampillai

Edward Ridyard- ST2

South Thames

Laura Maubon

Laura Maubon

South Thames (KSS)

Kavita Aggarwal

Camille Yvon (ST3)- camille.yvon@doctors.org.uk

Scotland (South)

Andrew Swampillai

Roxanne Annoh


Contact us Privacy & cookies Sitemap

By using this site, you accept its use of cookies | Tell me more | I understand & accept, don't display this message again